30 Shiphay Lane, Torquay TQ2 7DY
T: 01803 613215

Y7-11 Absence: 01803 653 750

South West Secondary
School of the Year 2019

30 Shiphay Lane, Torquay TQ2 7DY
E:   T: 01803 613215
Y7-11 Absence Line: 01803 653 750

South West Secondary School of the Year 2019

TGGS Governing Body

 Chair of Governors - Mrs Sally Timmins

Vice Chairman - Mrs Suzanne Wright
Headteacher - Dr Nick Smith
Staff Governors
Mrs Beverly Brown
Mr Mike Cowling
Co-Opted Governors
Mrs Bonita Matthews
Ex Officio
Dr Nick Smith (Headteacher)
Clerk to the Governors
Ms Christine Cowling E-mail:
Appointed Governors
Dr Julie Hutt
Mrs Penny Rogers
Mrs Sally Timmins (Chair of Governors)
Mrs Suzanne Wright (Vice Chair)
Parent Governors
Mr Ben Cartridge
Mrs Francisca Fung

If you need to contact any of the governors, please contact them through the Clerk to the Governors.


Governors' Meetings 

School Governors will meet on the following dates in the academic year 2018-2019:


Wednesday, 19th September

Wednesday, 17th October

Wednesday,  12th December

Wednesday,16th January

Wednesday, 13th February - CANCELLED

Wednesday, 3rd April

Wednesday, 15th May

Wednesday,  3rd July


Meetings will take place at 4.00 p.m. in the Governors' Meeting Room. Click HERE to see meeting attendance for 2017/18.



Governors' Committees/Areas of Responsibility 2018/19 

Policy NS, PR
Finance/Risk/Audit Committee NS, ST, BB, FF, JH  (+ Mrs S Wallwork)
Pay/Staffing                     SW, NS
Head’s PM SW, ST
Disciplinary  PR, ST
Staff Appeals ST
Safeguarding (incl. Children Looked After)     NS, BC
Health & Safety / Environmental Health (inc. Food) JH
External Complaints ST
Charitable Trust  NS (+ Mrs A White + Mrs E Cross)
Astro Pitch MC
Appeals/Admissions NS, BB
Responsible Officer Darnells
Link Governor - Data SW, ST
Link Governor - SEND BB
Pupil Premium FF
Equality JH
Trips (Residential/Adventurous) NS, BB
Careers SW




Register of Interests

In accordance with the Academies Financial Handbook, TGGS confirms that no Governor has any relevant business or pecuniary interests in the Academy unless stated alongside their name.





Mrs B. Brown

Staff Governor

Elected until October 2020


Mr B. Cartridge

Parent Governor

Elected until February 2030

Managing Director/Shareholder of Quasar Microwave Technology Ltd & Parent Governor at Widecombe Primary School.

Mrs F. Fung

Parent Governor

Elected until December 2021


Dr J. Hutt Appointed Governor Appointed by FGB until October 2020 Director of SSG Training & Consultancy Ltd
Mrs B. Matthews Co-opted Governor Co-opted by FGB until December 2018 Employee of Torquay Girls' Grammar Shool

Mr M. Cowling

Staff Governor

Elected until May 2022


Mrs P. Rogers

Appointed Governor

Appointed by FGB until November 2021

Director of Devon Family Solutions Ltd. Family interest in Brothwell Irvine Ltd.

Dr N. Smith


(Ex Officio)


Mrs S Timmins

Appointed Governor

Chair of Governors

Appointed by FGB until October 2020 Employee of Bishop Fleming. National Leader of Governance (NLG). Consultant for The Key.

Mrs S. Wright

Appointed Governor

Vice Chairman

Appointed by FGB until October 2020

Employee of Careers & Enterprise Co.


We'd really love to meet you...CLICK HERE to find out about our tour dates and open days

Ofsted Outstanding Logo



© 2019 Torquay Girls Grammar School | log in